About Us

Mission Statement

Grand Central Magazine captures the unique lifestyle experiences of the students at Central Michigan University.
We’re about what makes college and life worthwhile, expressed through content you won’t see elsewhere.

Meet Our Editorial Staff

Editor-in-chief: Alexis Thompson, alexis.thompson@gcmag.org

Alexis is a senior at Central and will graduate in May 2020 with a major in Integrative Public Relations and a minor in journalism. Alexis is also the Director of Digital Communications for PR Central and captain of the CMU Dance Team. Upon receiving her B.A.A, Alexis wants to work as a PR Director for a fashion company or magazine and write a few books. When Alexis has free time, she likes photography, reading books, dancing, writing, and binge-watching Netflix.

Managing Editor: Krystal Black, krystal.black@gcmag.org

Krystal is a senior at CMU studying Integrative Public Relations with a minor in journalism. She will graduate in December 2019. Krystal has been a member of GCMag since fall of 2016 as a writer, PR contributor and now the managing editor. In addition to GCMag, Krystal is a member of PRSSA and the Director of Operations for PR Central. After graduation, Krystal wants to find a job in PR and travel back to Europe.

Multimedia Co-Editor: Dylan Flanigan, dylan.flanigan@gcmag.org

Dylan is a graduate student pursuing Electronic Media Management. He spends a lot of time creating video content with his friends. He is an avid musician playing whenever he can and promoting music as a member of Delta Omicron. During his time at CMU, he has found a love of many media and art forms. He wants to learn how to effectively help businesses use media to reach audiences.

Multimedia Co-Editor: Madison Ingalls, madison.ingalls@gcmag.org

Madison is a senior studying broadcasting and cinematic arts as her major and multimedia design and art as her minors. Madison is extremely passionate about producing creative, original multimedia content of all kinds which is what she does in her free time. Film, music, and photography are very important to her and influence who she is today. After graduation, she plans to enter the film/video industry while continuing to express herself through creative independent work.

Style & Beauty Editor: Riley Connell, riley.connell@gmag.org 

Riley is a sophomore planning to graduate in 2022 majoring in journalism and minoring in broadcasting and cinematic arts. Along with being an editor at GCMag, Riley is also on the Film Society executive board and is an SGA representative. After obtaining her bachelor’s degree, Riley plans to live in the city of Detroit and go wherever her career takes her.

Arts & Entertainment Editor: Katie Sergent, katie.sergent@gcmag.org

Katie is a senior graduating in December and studying broadcast and cinematic arts and minoring in journalism. When she is not editing for the Arts and Entertainment section, Katie also serves as the social media chair for the Society for Professional Journalists. Katie can often be found listening to music, drawing, going to the movies or hanging out with her friends. After graduating, Katie hopes to become a writer/creator or social media specialist. However, her ultimate goal is to work for Buzzfeed or YouTube creating content and making people laugh.

Student Lifestyle Editor: Zachary Newhouse, zachary.newhouse@gcmag.org

Zach is a junior who also works with Sports Central as an anchor and for ESPN/CSN on live events. He loves the field of broadcasting, multimedia design, and journalism which is why they are his chosen major and minors. He plans to work for a company or magazine like ours with hopes of living in New York after graduation.

People of Central Editor: Emilly Davis, emilly.davis@gcmag.org

Emilly is a senior at Central graduating in December 2020 with a major in journalism, a minor in English and a creative writing certificate. Her journalism experience includes working at Central Michigan Life as a reporter, editor-in-chief, opinion editor and managing editor, and at The Flint Journal as a reporting intern. Upon receiving her bachelor’s degree, Emilly wants to work in a city for a newspaper or magazine. In her free time, she enjoys yoga, reading, cooking and binge-watching Netflix with her boyfriend.

PR Director: Shannel Johnson, shannel.johnson@gcmag.org 

Shannel is a senior at CMU studying Integrative Public Relations. In her free time, she likes to hang with friends, nap or watch Netflix. Upon graduating, Shannel wants to work at an agency or big company doing PR.

Art Director: Abbey Bradberry, abbey.bradberry@gcmag.org

Abbey is a senior studying advertising with a concentration in copy and design. Upon graduating, she plans to move to a big city and work for an agency as an Art or Creative Director. Outside of school, Abbey enjoys spending time outdoors, listening to and seeing live music, and the visual arts.

Adviser: Steve Coon, steve.coon@gcmag.org

If you are interested in joining Grand Central’s team, please contact Alexis Thompson at alexis.thompson@gcmag.org.